webinar register page

Webinar banner
Exhibition Opening MICROSCOPY OF HISTORICAL FILM COLORS
We are pleased to announce an online event

Microscopy of Historical Film Colors

to launch the digital exhibition of the images resulting from a joint research project between HTW Berlin and the University of Zurich (UZH).

The event will take place online on Friday, May 28 at 6 pm CEST (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm BST) and last approx. 90 minutes.

In this project, historical film color samples stemming from the Koshofer Collection, now at UZH, have been microscopically investigated in transmission and in cross-sections at the conservation-scientific facilities of HTW Berlin. The intriguing and often stunning photomicrographs showcase the relationship between the photographic image, their material and chemical composition and the three-dimensional structure unique to the analog moving image heritage in color, while exhibiting their own peculiar beauty.

Commencing that day, the images will be accessible through a virtual exhibition gallery and via the individual color processes on the Timeline of Historical Film Colors https://filmcolors.org.

Program:
Welcome from the HTW’s School of Culture and Design (Prof. Susanne Kähler)
Welcome from the UZH’s Department of Film Studies (Prof. Barbara Flueckiger)
The Koshofer Collection. A Historical Resource for Scientific Film Color Studies (Dr. Giorgio Trumpy, UZH)
Towards Conservation Science Tools in Film Preservation. A Brief Introduction (Prof. Ulrich Ruedel, HTW Berlin)
Microscopy of Historical Film Samples (Sreya Chatterjee, HTW Berlin)
Q&A

To register, please visit

https://uzh.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_euDn0K4zQHGaYLSuPJm-ag
We gratefully acknowledge the financial support from HTW’s FNK Commission and UZH for the project.

May 28, 2021 05:45 PM in Zurich

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Barbara Flückiger.